Who We Are

Chairman: Chuck Savinetti – Locust Valley Water District
1st Vice-Chairman: Tyrand Fuller – Suffolk County Water Authority
2nd Vice-Chairman: Richard Passariello – Roslyn Water District
Secretary: Carmen Tierno, P.E. – New York American Water
Treasurer: Arnold Palleschi – D&B Engineers & Architects
Corresponding Secretary: Susan L. Jannace – H2M architects + engineers

Board Of Directors

Stan Carey
Ralph D. Pugliese
Michael O’Connell
Michael Levy

Boy in PoolSince its inception in 1951, the Long Island Water Conference has touched all phases of water supply and management in Nassau and Suffolk Counties. Members include the major water suppliers, both public and private, on Long Island. Together they serve virtually 90 percent of the bi-county area, which has a population greater than 20 states.

While membership was originally limited to commissioners and officials of districts, villages, cities, towns, authorities and investor-owned companies, the Water Conference was expanded to include water superintendents. Further growth brought in attorneys, consulting engineers, officials of various governmental regulatory agencies, representatives of Nassau and Suffolk Health Departments, NY State Department of Environmental Conservation, United States Geological Survey and manufacturers and contractors connected with water supply operations. Each makes a vital contribution to the complete water supply industry.

Members of the Long Island Water Conference possess extensive knowledge and experience in the five major phases of public water supply:

  1. Pumpage from deep wells to approximately two and one-half million residents
  2. Storage for fire fighting purposes and meeting maximum day demands
  3. Treatment and quality control;
  4. Distribution for commercial, industrial, residential and firematic use
  5. Administration and water resource management